Student Networking and Inter-Professional Sessions
Centre for Remote Health

The Centre for Remote Health hosts regular Student Networking and Inter-Professional Sessions (SNIPS) for students and other interested professionals from all health related disciplines. 

The aim is to present information on an area that students may be interested in, focussing on inter-professional, person centred care.  It is also an opportunity to network with students from other areas and other universities and to share placement experiences.

The sessions are generally held fortnightly at the Centre for Remote Health, Cnr Simpson & Skinner Sts, Alice Springs and are open to all students in any area of health from any university. Bookings are not required

2017 Sessions

Date: Thu 15 June 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: Tobias Speare, Centre for Remote Health
Topic: Principles of Pharmacology.
An understanding of the principles of pharmacology will enable you to initiate and administer medicines with greater confidence and should underpin medicines management decisions. Pharmacology may be divided into two components; pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics.


Date: Thu 1 Jun 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: Weihua Li and Cassie Holland, Central Australia Health Service
Topic: Renal Disease & Kidney Replacement Therapy


Date: Thu 18 May 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: Annie Farthing, Centre for Remote Health
Topic: Holistic Assessment of Complex Cases


Date: Thu 4 May 2017
Time:
3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenters: 
Conor Harnischfeger, Mass Nasir, Ava Hafezi, Marcus McShane and Sally Speare, Oral Health Services, Central Australia
Topic: 
The link between oral health and overall health


Date: Thu 20 Apr 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: Jarrod Cahir and Enosh Kennedy, Central Australia Health Services
Topic: An Introduction to Prosthetics & Orthotics in Central Australia


Date: Thu 6 Apr 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: Occupational Therapy Team, Central Australia Health Services
Topic: Occupational Therapy in Central Australia


Date: Thu 23 Mar 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: Erik Tikoft, Respiratory Clinical Nurse Consultant, Central Australia Health Services
Topic: Bronchiectasis and common respiratory disorders of Central Australia


Date: Wed 8 Mar 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: Gregory Solomon (SoLi) - Diabetes CNC, Central Australia Health Services
Topic: Holistic care needs of people with diabetes in Central Australia
Date: Fri 24 Feb 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: Tobias Speare, Pharmacy Academic
Topic: Principles of Pharmacology
Details: An understanding of the principles of pharmacology will enable you to initiate and administer medicines with greater confidence and should underpin medicines management decisions. Pharmacology may be divided into two components; pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics.

Date: Thu 9 Feb 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: Annie Farthing, Lecturer Allied Health, Centre for Remote Health
Topic: The ICF - a way of thinking about clients with medically and socially complex needs
Future Session Dates and Times
Date: Thu 29 June 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: TBA
Topic: TBA

Date: Thu 13 July 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: TBA
Topic: TBA

Date: Thu 27 July 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: TBA
Topic: TBA

Date: Thu 10 Aug 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: TBA
Topic: TBA

Date: Thu 24 Aug
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: TBA
Topic: TBA

Date: Thu 7 Sep 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: TBA
Topic: TBA

Date: Thu 21 Sep 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: TBA
Topic: TBA

Date:Thu 5 Oct 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: TBA
Topic:TBA
Date: Thu 19 Oct 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: TBA
Topic: TBA
Date:Thu 2 Nov 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: TBA
Topic: TBA
Date: Thu 16 Nov 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: TBA
Topic: TBA
Date: Thu 30 Nov 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: TBA
Topic: TBA
Date: Thu 14 Dec 2017
Time: 3:00pm - 4:30pm
Presenter: TBA
Topic: TBA



2016 Sessions

Date: Fri 11 Nov 2016
Time: 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Presenter: Annette Mikecz, Speech Pathologist, Adult Allied Health Team
Topic: Dysphagia - a multidisciplinary approach: An introduction to The Dysphagia Assist model: Acute Screening of swallow in Stroke/TIA
Date: Fri 28 Oct 2016
Time: 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Presenter: Occupational Therapy Team, Central Australian Health Service
Topic: Occupations: It’s what we do. Understanding people’s daily occupations and life roles
Date: Fri 14 Oct 2016
Time: 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Presenter: Ryan Bonnefin, Podiatrist, Central Australian Health Service
Topic: The high risk foot in a Central Australian context
Date: Fri 30 Sep 2016
Time: 2:00pm - 3:30pm
Presenter: Jessie Anderson and Annie Farthing,Centre for Remote Health
Topic: Primary Health Care - what is it?
Date: Fri 16 Sep 2016
Time: 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Presenter: Jarrod Cahir, Prosthetist/Orthotist, Central Australia Health Service
Topic: Amputations - why, how to prevent, and my role as a health practitioner
Date: Fri 2 Sep 2016
Time: 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Guest Presenter: Cassandra Holland, Clinical Nurse Educator Renal/Kidney Dialysis Unit, Central Australia Health Service
Topic: Conversations on Renal Disease

Date: Fri 19 Aug 2016
Time: 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Presenter: Tobias Speare, Pharmacy Academic, Centre for Remote Health
Topic: Acute Respiratory Disease in Children – Contexts and Complications

Date: Fri 5 Aug 2016
Time: 2:00pm - 4:00pm
Presenter: Annie Farthing, Centre for Remote Health
Topic: Introducing the ICF

Date: Fri 27 May 2016
Time: 1:30pm - 3:00pm
Presenter: Gregory Solomon (SoLi), Diabetes CNC, Alice Springs Hospital
Topic: Holistic care needs of people with diabetes in Central Australia

For enquiries contact This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it. | Tel: 08 8951 4700

Alice Springs Campus Location


Flinders University



Charles Darwin University